Main Information

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is one of the outstanding teams of the Indian Premier League (IPL). With a huge fan base and a rich history, RCB has left a significant mark in the IPL since its inception in 2008. This article is an overview of the team’s successes and failures in India’s most popular cricket championship.

NameRoyal Challengers Bangalore
CaptainFaf du Plessis
LeagueIndian Premier League
Seasons2008 – 2023
Win IPL 
Win T20

Royal Challengers Bangalore Formation

RCB was formed in 2008 when the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) introduced the IPL. The franchise is owned by United Spirits, a subsidiary of Diageo. Under the captaincy of Rahul Dravid, RCB made its debut in the inaugural season of the IPL and has been part of the league ever since.

RCB Performance in the Indian Premier League (IPL)

Over the years, RCB has shown both moments of brilliance and periods of struggle in the IPL. Their line-up has consistently featured some of the biggest names in cricket, including legendary players such as Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers.

IPL trophies won by RCB

RCB is yet to win a single IPL title. Despite reaching the finals three times in 2009, 2011 and 2016, they have failed to win the coveted trophy. However, RCB’s passionate fans are not giving up hope of a triumphant season in the future.

RCB IPL Results for All the Time (In Table)

YearLeague StandingFinal Standing
20087th out of 8League stage
20093rd out of 8Runners-up
20104th out of 8Playoffs
20111st out of 10Runners-up
20125th out of 9League stage
20135th out of 9
20147th out of 8
20153rd out of 8Playoffs
20162nd out of 8Runners-up
20178th out of 8League stage
20186th out of 8
20198th out of 8
20204th out of 8Playoffs
20213rd out of 8
20223rd out of 10
20236th out of 10League stage

RCB IPL Best Players

RCB has had a number of great players over the years. Some of their most successful players include:

  • Virat Kohli: Kohli is one of the greatest batsmen in the world, and he has been the captain of RCB since 2013.
  • AB de Villiers: de Villiers is one of the most explosive batsmen in the world, and he was a key member of RCB’s team from 2011 to 2018.
  • Yuzvendra Chahal: Chahal is one of the best spinners in the world, and he has been a key member of RCB’s bowling attack since 2014.
  • Chris Gayle: Gayle is one of the most destructive batsmen in the world, and he was a key member of RCB’s team from 2011 to 2017.
  • Mitchell Starc: Starc is one of the best fast bowlers in the world, and he was a key member of RCB’s bowling attack in 2014 and 2015.

Summary of RCB IPL Results

RCB has never won the IPL, but they have finished runners-up on three occasions. The team has also reached the semi-finals on four occasions. RCB’s home ground is the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.


1️⃣ How many IPL trophies have been won by RCB?

RCB are yet to win a single IPL trophy. However, they have reached the final three times – in 2009, 2011 and 2016.

2️⃣ How many times has RCB won the IPL?

Based on the past 16 seasons (including 2023), RCB have not won the IPL.

3️⃣ How many matches did RCB win in the 2023 IPL?

Royal Challengers Bangalore won a total of 7 matches in the 2023 IPL season.