Main Information About MI IPL

Mumbai Indians are the leading team in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The Indian Premier League is the professional cricket league in India. The Mumbai team was off the scene for the first few seasons of the professional cricket league until Rohit Sharma took charge of the team in 2013 and won his first-ever IPL title, which was won in 2013. Since then, the team has been in the spotlight and has won the most IPL titles. Mumbai is deservedly the best team in the IPL as they have won five titles in the last eight years, including the Champions League, and all under the leadership of Rohit Sharma. 

After winning the IPL in 2013, the Mumbai Indians won alternate IPL finals until 2020 when they successfully defended the title. Rohit Sharma is currently the captain of the Mumbai Indians. Mahela Jayawardene was named head coach of the Mumbai Indians before the 2017 season. Sharma is the team’s top scorer and Lasith Malinga is the team’s top scorer. Ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auctions, the team retained 4 players: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Kiron Pollard and Surya Kumar Yadav.

MI IPL 2020 Trophy

Mumbai Indians added 6 new persons to their team at the IRL 2020 auction: Chris Lynn, Nathan Coulter-Neal, Saurabh Tiwari Mohsin Khan (Digvijay Deshmukh (£2 million), and Balwant Rai Singh. 

The 2020 matches were played in the UAE, as that year was the peak of the covid epidemic. Despite a strong team, the Mumbai Indians were underestimated by many viewers and critics because of their record in the UAE and because of some servers, for example, that you can’t win a game in odd-numbered years. But the team proved not only to themselves but also to the critics, that they are a strong team and won the tournament, as well as getting their 5th league title. That’s a record.

MI IPL 2019 Trophy

In 2019, the team wowed all teams and spectators and won their fourth IPL title by defeating CSK on May 12, 2019.  The Mumbai Indians became the only team to win four IPL trophies and the most successful team in the history of the game of cricket.

Hardik Pandya scored 91 runs in just 34 balls against the team and made 50 and the fastest scores in just 17 balls in that match.

MI IPL 2017 Trophy

On May 21 in IPL 2017 they got 1st place and won their third major cricket title, the Indians won 10 out of 14 matches. They won the trophy after beating Rising Pune Supergiant in a thrilling finish. That year, they became the first franchise whose value exceeded $100 million among all existing franchises at the time. Just as they became the first team to play in the tournament, they won their 100th T20, becoming the first team to do so. In doing so, with confidence, the team became the strongest and leading team.

MI IPL 2015 Trophy

The Mumbai Indians won their second league cricket title after beating Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs. They started the season with 4 losses in the IPL, mostly due to bowling. They lost several players to injuries and they were unable to participate for the rest of the season, which meant that player Lendl Simmons got his chance to return to the team and gave the team a solid start throughout the season. He was Mumbai’s all-time leading scorer with 540 runs scored, and second overall for the season behind David Warner. Introducing another important strikeout bowler, Mitchell McClenaghan.The team gave good support to Lasith Malinga early on. Mumbai won 9 of their last 10 matches to win the title, thanks to good play by Simmons, Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, and Kieron Pollard and good bowling by Malinga, McClenaghan, and Harbhajan Singh.

MI IPL 2013 Trophy

In 2013, Anil Kamble was named head coach of the team. That same year, rising star Rohit Sharma took charge of the team. Thanks to the experienced advice of the mentors, the team won the 2013 IPL.

In the match against Pune Warriors India, the team got off to a quick start with a 54-run starting stand of Ricky Ponting and Sachin Tendulkar, followed by Rohit Sharma, who helped Mumbai score 183/3 and win the match. Thus began the story of the rising star. In the next match against Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai lost by just 92 points. Since skipper Rohit Sharma was in great physical and moral shape, he became captain. Under his command, the Mumbai team grew significantly stronger and won their first Cricket League One title.They continued their winning streak in the Twenty20 Champions League. However, even in this league, the starts were rather slow, which caused them to have to win their last league stage match against Perth Scorchers by a high margin. Player Glenn Maxwell quickly scored 14 goals and 37 points in the final game. Mumbai went 202/6 and won the match by 33 points. 

Summary of MI IPL Results

In the history of its games, the cricket team has won quite a few awards. To see which years and which medals, take a look at the table below. This will help you learn more about MI’s history and its storied games in the history of all cricket games. These are impressive results for a team that few believed in and criticized.

Indian Premier League (IRL)

YearTournament TitleResults
2013IRL, T20Champions


1️⃣ How many IPL titles won by MI?

The team has won 5 IPL trophies, which is a record among many teams in IPL history. 1 title in 2013, 2 titles in 2015, 3 titles in 2017, 4 titles in 2019 and the last title earned even in covid mode in 2020. It is safe to say that this is fully deserved status as the strongest team in the game of cricket.

2️⃣ How many times Mumbai Indians won the IPL?

MI have won the IPL 5 times, in 2010 the team won 2nd place, and in 2011, 2012, and 2014 the team was able to enter the playoffs. It should be said that these are also great results for the team, as the team has taken high results in a large number of tournaments. It is also worth noting that the team received high results in T20 tournaments, which was also deserved. In 2011 and 2013 they became champions of the tournament.

3️⃣ When did Mumbai Indians win their first IPL title?

Mumbai Indians won their first IPL title in the year 2013. They defeated the Chennai Super Kings in the final to clinch the championship.

4️⃣ When was the last time MI won an IPL?

MI team won an IPL cricket tournament in 2020 by finishing 1st place and scoring a lot of points, which made this team the strongest that year.

5️⃣ Which team did Mumbai Indians defeat in the final to win the IPL 2020?

Mumbai Indians defeated the Delhi Capitals in the final of the IPL 2020 to clinch their 5th IPL title.

6️⃣ How many matches did MI win in the 2022 IPL?

The team did not start on a great note in this tournament but managed to get 4 wins in 14 matches, the team could not score high results in 2022.

7️⃣ How many times have MI successfully defended their IPL title?

Mumbai Indians have successfully defended their IPL title once. They won the IPL in 2019 and went on to win it again in 2020.

8️⃣ Who is the captain of the Mumbai Indians team?

The captain of the Mumbai Indians team is Rohit Sharma. He has led the team to multiple IPL titles and has been instrumental in their success.

9️⃣ Which player from Mumbai Indians became the first to take 150 IPL wickets?

Lasith Malinga from the Mumbai Indians became the first player to take 150 wickets in the IPL. He is known for his excellent bowling skills and has been a key part of the team’s success.

🔟 Who is the leading wicket-taker for Mumbai Indians in IPL history?

Jasprit Bumrah is the leading wicket-taker for Mumbai Indians in IPL history.