How many times has KKR won the IPL?

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is a franchise cricket team based in Kolkata, India, which plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). It was founded in 2008 by Shah Rukh Khan, Jay Mehta and Juhi Chawla. The team is currently led by Dinesh Karthik and coached by Brendon McCullum.

Main Information About KKR

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are a professional franchise cricket team representing the city of Kolkata in the Indian Premier League.

In the table below you can see all the basic information about the KKR IPL, check it out for a better understanding of the team’s history and structure.

Team NameKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
Home VenueEden Gardens, Kolkata, India
OwnersShah Rukh Khan, Jay Mehta, Juhi Chawla
ManagerJoy Bhattacharjee
CoachBrendon McCullum
CaptainDinesh Karthik
Home Kit Color(s)Purple and Gold 
IPL Seasons2008 – 2023
IPL Titles2012, 2014

KKR IPL History Results

KKR became the IPL champions in 2012, by defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final.

KKR has been one of the most successful teams in the IPL, winning the tournament twice. The team is known for its aggressive style of play and active fans. KKR also has a strong core of experienced players who have consistently performed well throughout their history in the IPL.

Apart from two IPL titles, KKR has also made the playoffs every season since 2010 and reached the tournament finals four times.

Overall, KKR is one of the most successful teams in the IPL and will remain a force to be reckoned with in the years to come.

KKR IPL 2014 Trophy

The Kolkata Knight Riders team had a phenomenal season in 2014, winning their second IPL trophy. The team, led by the astute captain Gautam Gambhir, showed a perfect combination of skill, determination and teamwork. Thanks to the outstanding performances of all the players, KKR emerged victorious, making their fans proud.

KKR IPL 2012 Trophy

The year 2012 holds a special place in KKR’s IPL journey as they won their first IPL trophy. Under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir and coach Trevor Bayliss, KKR showed their strength throughout the season. The team’s success was underpinned by the consistent play of Gambhir, Jacques Kallis and Manwinder Bisle, complemented by the exceptional bowling skills of Sunil Narine and the support team.

KKR IPL Results for All the Time

SeasonLeague StandingFinal Standing
20086th out of 8League stage
20098th out of 8League stage
20106th out of 8League stage
20114th out of 10Playoffs
20122nd out of 9Champions
20137th out of 9League stage
20142nd out of 8Champions
20155th out of 8League stage
20164th out of 8Playoffs
20173rd out of 8Playoffs
20183rd out of 8Playoffs
20195th out of 8League stage
20205th out of 8League stage
20214th out of 8Runners-up
20227th out of 10League stage
20237th out of 10League stage

Overall, KKR has consistently been one of the most successful teams in the IPL and the two IPL titles in 2012 and 2014 are testament to its consistent performance over the years. Despite the lack of IPL titles in recent years, KKR is still a formidable force and will look to make a strong comeback in the 2024 season.

KKR IPL Best Players

Some of the most famous those has been part of the KKR family are Gautam Gambhir, Andre Russell, Eion Morgan, and Sunil Narine.

KKR has had some of the best players in IPL history such as Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Dinesh Karthik and Sunil Narine. These players have been instrumental in the success of KKR over the years.

Kolkata Knight Riders also have some of the best young players in the IPL like Shubman Gill, Shivam Mavi and Prasidh Krishna. These players have immense potential and will look to make an impact for the team going forward.

Summary of KKR IPL Results

The Kolkata Knight Riders have had mixed results in the IPL. They have won the tournament twice, in 2012 and 2014, demonstrating their ability to be at their best. The team has also made it to the playoffs on a number of occasions, showing their competitiveness. However, they have also faced difficulties and failed to make the playoffs in some seasons. Nevertheless, KKR remains a formidable force and a fan favourite throughout the history of the IPL tournament.


1️⃣ How many IPL trophies won by KKR?

The Kolkata Knight Riders have won two IPL trophies since their inception in 2008.

2️⃣ How many times did KKR win the IPL?

The Kolkata Knight Riders have won the IPL twice, in 2012 and 2014.

3️⃣ How many matches KKR won in the 2023 IPL?

In the 2022 IPL, KKR won 6 out of the 14 matches they played.

4️⃣ When was the last time KKR won an IPL?

The last time Kolkata Knight Riders won the IPL was in 2014 when they emerged victorious and clinched their second title.

5️⃣ What is the team’s result in the IPL tournament in 2023?

KKR’s performance in the Indian Premier League in 2023 was disappointing for its fans. The team finished only 7th and failed to qualify for the playoffs.